Calder Prize

(prize, 205-present)

The Calder Prize is awarded biannually to honor a living artist who has completed exemplary and innovative early work and who has demonstrated the potential to make a major contribution to the field. Created in collaboration by the Calder Foundation and the Scone Foundation in 2005, the Calder Prize grew out of the success of the Atelier Calder residency program located at Calder’s former studio in Saché, France. The Prize consists of $50,000, the opportunity to complete a six-month residency at the Atelier Calder, and the facilitation of a gift of one of the recipient’s defining works to a major public collection. Past recipients are Rachel Harrison, 2011; Tomas Saraceno, 2009; Zilvinas Kempinas, 2007; and Tara Donovan, 2005.
The artist Alexander Calder was born July 22 1898, Lawnton Pennsylvania, USA.
Died Nov 11 1976 New York.

The Calder Estate and the Centre National des Arts Plastiques established the Association pour l’animation de l’Atelier Calder in 1988 as an artist-in-residence program.

For six-month periods, international artists are invited to live in Calder’s house, work in Calder’s studio, and enjoy technical and financial support to help them realize undertakings that might otherwise prove daunting. Visit the Atelier Calder website

Artists Calder Prize:
  • don - sar