Artes Mundi Prize

(prize, since 2004-present)

Artes Mundi supports and celebrates international contemporary art. Our aim is to recognise exciting emerging artists from around the world whose work comments on the human condition and humanity from different cultural perspectives, and present this to a wide audience.

Every two years our programme culminates in the major Artes Mundi Exhibition in Cardiff, Wales and the awarding of the prestigious Artes Mundi Prize. This is accompanied by visiting artist presentations, activities with schools and communities and a conference.
Shortlist 2012: Miriam Bäckström (Sweden), Tania Bruguera (Cuba), Phil Collins (England), Sheela Gowda (India), Teresa Margolles (Mexico), Darius Mikšys (Lithuania) and Apolonija Šušteršič (Slovenia).
Teresa Margolles Wins Artes Mundi 5 2012 Prize.

Artists Artes Mundi Prize:
  • aht - mar

Nine international artists are on the shortlist for the third Artes Mundi Prize.  They are: Lida Abdul; Vasco Araújo; Mircea Cantor; Dalziel and Scullion; N. S. Harsha; Abdoulaye Konaté; Susan Norrie and Rosângela Rennó.