Alpert Award for Visual Arts

(prize, --)
The Alpert Award in the Arts provides unrestricted annual prizes to five mid-career artists working in the fields of dance, film/video, music, theatre and the visual arts. Initiated and funded by the Herb Alpert Foundation and administered by California Institute of the Arts since 1994, the Alpert Award honors and supports artists respected for their creativity, ingenuity, and bodies of work, at a moment in their lives when they are poised to propel their art in new and unpredictable directions. It recognizes experimenters who are making something that matters within and beyond their field. Winners Visual Arts
1995 Mel Chin, 1996 Carrie Mae Weems, 1997 Kerry James Marshall, 1998 Roni Horn, 1999 PepĆ³n Osorio, 2000 Shirin Neshat, 2001 Cai Guo-Qiang, 2002 Christian Marclay, 2003 Catherine Opie, 2004 Catherine Sullivan, 2005 Harrell Fletcher, 2006 Jim Hodges, 2007 Walid Raad, 2008 Byron Kim, 2009 Paul Pfeiffer, 2010 Rachel Harrison.

Artists Alpert Award for Visual Arts:
  • chi - wee