Shop oil painting and other arts on DHgate.com
Home » Art News » exhibitions and events Category: exhibitions and events


Posted on : October 4, 2011 Author : VideoBrasil
Click to Enlarge!
17th International Contemporary Art Festival SESC_Videobrasil September through December 2011 SESC Belenzinho | SESC Pompeia | State Art Gallery São Paulo, SP, Brazil With a new name and significant structural changes from past editions, the 17th Festival marks the broadening of the project’s scope. Now dubbed International Contemporary Art Festival SESC_Videobrasil, it includes new media and languages. Previously restricted to video works, the Southern Panoramas competitive show is now accepting other artistic experiments, such as installations, performances, artist books, photography and painting. In addition to maintaining its traditional character as a showcase for recent production from Latin America, Africa, Asia (except Japan), Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania, the competitive show now opens itself up to the multiplicity of mediums that defines current production. This change aligns the Festival with the nature of contemporary artistic practices and confronts the huge output of representations that constitute visuality in the world today. Videobrasil takes on a brand new format and becomes the first contemporary art festival in the country. Established within this context, the 1st Videobrasil Open Studio Prize further strengthens the character of the new proposal. The Prize selects young artists based in São Paulo to produce collaborative artwork at Casa Tomada, a facility for production, reflection, and interaction in São Paulo. The resulting artworks will feature in the Southern Panoramas show. Parallel to the competition, the Festival will feature an exhibition by Olafur Eliasson, the first ever in Latin America by the leading contemporary artist. The exhibition is curated by Jochen Volz. The Danish-Icelandic artist’s projects, whose large scale is an uncommon feature in contemporary art production, appeals to a broad audience, as is the case with Waterfalls (2008), consisting of waterfalls over the Hudson River, in New York, and the Weather Project (2006), featuring a huge artificial sun inside the Tate Modern gallery, in London. Eliasson’s installations, sculptures, photographs, and urban interventions question our processes of comprehension, perception, and cognition. The 17th International Contemporary Art Festival SESC_Videobrasil is promoted by SESC São Paulo and Associação Cultural Videobrasil, which were also in charge of the Brazilian tours of the exhibitions Sophie Calle – Take Care of Yourself (2009) and Joseph Beuys – We Are the Revolution (São Paulo/Salvador, 2010). VideoBrasil. September through December 2011 SESC Belenzinho | SESC Pompeia | State Art Gallery São Paulo, SP, Brazil Southern Panoramas selected artists
Adriano Costa (Brazil) Akram Zaatari (Lebanon) Alexandre B (Brazil) Ali Cherri (Lebanon) Ana Prata (Brazil) André Favilla (Brazil) Andrei Rubina Thomaz (Brazil) Angelica Mesiti (Australia) Anna Baumgart (Poland) Aya Eliav, Ofir Feldman (Israel) Ayrson Heráclito (Brazil) Bakary Diallo (Mali) Basma Alsharif (Kwait) Bogdan Perzynski (Poland) Bouchra Khalili (Marrocos) Carla Zaccagnini (Argentina/Brazil) Carlos Adriano (Brazil) Carlosmagno Rodrigues, Alonso Pafyeze (Brazil) Chico Dantas (Brazil) Christian Delgado, Nicolás Testoni (Argentina) Cinthia Marcelle (Brazil) Claudia Joskowicz (Bolivia) Cristiano Lenhardt (Brazil) Damir Ocko (Croatia) Dan Boord, Luis Valdovino (Argentina/EUA) Dan Halter (Zimbabwe) Daniel Salamanca (Colombia) Danillo Barata (Brazil) Deyson Gilbert (Brazil) Dirceu Maués (Brazil) Dor Guez (Israel) E. S. Mayorga (Mexico) Eder Santos (Brazil) Edwin Sanchez (Colombia) Fabiano Gonper (Brazil) Federico Lamas (Argentina) Felipe Barros (Brazil) Felipe Bittencourt (Brazil) Gabriel Mascaro (Brazil) Galina Myznikova, Sergey Provorov (Russia) Gianfranco Foschino (Chile) Gisela Motta, Leandro Lima (Brazil) Gregg Smith (South Africa) HeeWon Lee (South Corea) Ian Haig (Australia) Ilan Waisberg (Brazil) Iván Marino (Argentina) Jonathas de Andrade (Brazil) Laerte Ramos (Brazil) Lara Arellano (Argentina) Leandro Cardoso (Brazil) Liu Wei (China) Lixin Bao (China) Lucia Mindlin Loeb (Brazil) Luciana Ohira, Sergio Bonilha (Brazil) Luis F. Ramirez Celis (Colombia) Luiz Roque (Brazil) Marcello Mercado (Argentina) Marcellvs L. (Brazil) Marcia Vaitsman (Brazil) Marcio Shimabukuro (Brazil) Marek Ranis (Poland)Maya Watanabe (Peru) Merilyn Fairskye (Australia) Mihai Grecu (Romania) Milton Machado, Cacá Vicalvi (Brazil) Moran Shavit (Israel) Natasha Mendonça (India) Nazareno (Brazil) Nicola Morton (Australia) Nurit Sharett (Israel) Orit Ben-Shitrit (Israel) Pablo Lobato (Brazil) Paula Garcia (Brazil) Petrina Hicks (Australia) Rafael Urban (Brazil) Ricardo Carioba (Brazil) Roberto Winter (Brazil) Roderick Steel (Brazil) Rodrigo Bivar (Brazil) Rolando Vargas (Colombia) Ronaldo Miranda (Brazil) Sarah Jane Gorlitz, Wojciech Olejnik (Poland, Canada) Sebastian Diaz Morales (Argentina) Shaun Gladwell (Australia) Sherman Ong (Malaysia) Taryn Takahashi (Peru) Tatiana Blass (Brazil) Tenzin Phuntsog (India) Theo Craveiro (Brazil) Tiago Romagnani Silveira (Brazil) Vinicius Duarte (Brazil) Wagner Malta Tavares (Brazil) Wagner Morales (Brazil) Ximena Vel&aacute ;squez Sánchez (Colombia) Zafer Topaloglu (Turkey)

Tagged Keywords: ,